They massacred my martini!

The following mixed drink recipe does not represent the opinions of this blogger. And as far as the drinker of this blog is concerned, you would have a better chance of serving me up a Miller Lite than you would have of serving me this . . . thing.

A fellow martini lover shared with me a concoction which has to go down as one of the worst ideas since Tiger said ‘I do’. I should probably warn the martini crowd to turn away now because the following is graphic and disturbing. And worst of all, it’s just really really stupid.

Shooflytini:

2 oz. Vodka
1 oz. Shoofly Liqueur
-Shake with ice and strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Rim the glass with brown sugar
syrup and shoofly pie crumbs

To think this horrid abomination of the Martini franchise is being served in the very same town with one of the very best Martinis I have ever enjoyed is truly frightening. Oh well, there’s no accounting for taste or common sense.

For those unfamiliar, the shoofly recipe contains brown sugar, cinnamon and molasses so I’m guessing that’s what the liqueur is bringing as well. Holy Father of Livesey! I would rather abstain from all of my various beverages of choice for the rest of my life than so much as order this drink on a dare.

I’ve seen countless variations on the old school drink over the years, but this one shoots up to number one, two and three on my list of worst Martinis ever created. It’s not a recipe so much as a death warrant for all that once was good and right and true about the classic old school brand.

Drink of the night: Vodka Martini, straight up with big fat bleu cheese stuffed olives.

Not the preferred method (Gin), but Quay vodka is so incredibly seductive and I feel it my mortal duty to bring sexy back after all that shoofly nonsense I was put through. So I made myself a double and set my alarm for ‘Shut the hell up’.

Leave a Reply

