The Royals Win The World Series! . . Of Weddings

I wish I could write a post knocking this royal wedding, but I can’t. The truth is I kinda dig the hyperbole. It’s nice to believe in fairy tales every once in a while. I’m probably not getting up in the middle of the night to watch it, but I’ll set the clock an hour early just to catch some of it. Because it is historic. And majesty needn’t be scoffed at just because I want to pretend I’m too cool for the old school. Give me pomp and give me circumstance and let me have a window into the way business used to be done.

Over the last few days I’ve heard snide comments aplenty in regard to Prince William and Kate Middleton. The media is jumping through hula hoops, they say. To which I reminded them that Meredith Viera once granted a ten minute interview to a school girl who had hiccups. It’s not worth their time they insist. To which I asked them if they remembered to DVR Housewives of New Jersey. But the Royal Family is nothing more than a bunch of figureheads who live high on the hog and contribute little to society, they protested.

Oh, that one is the easiest of them all, since America has Congress.

But this is America. We always have something better to do. Even when we really don’t have something better to do. And I’m fairly certain unless you’re an NBA player or Kim Kardashian, you don’t have any big plans tomorrow morning at around 3 am. I know,  I know . . . you have to get up for work. But that doesn’t stop you from watching sporting events, or Jimmy Kimmel.

Suck it up America. Come to grips with the fact that royalty exists outside of the Sheen Family. As hard as that may be to believe.

The Brits own tomorrow and the weekend as well. And let’s face it. After some two hundred and thirty years of rubbing their faces in that skirmish we won in our own backyard once upon a time, they deserve it.

2 thoughts on “The Royals Win The World Series! . . Of Weddings

Leave a Reply

