Then and Now

Then . . I straightened, colored and buzzed my hair.
Now . . I just want to keep it.

Then . . I would pull an all nighter on Friday and go straight to work on Saturday morning.
Now . . I can pull an all nighter on Friday and probably be okay to work on Monday.

Then . . ‘Going dancing’ meant meeting new people, scoring a phone number and going out for breakfast afterwards.
Now . . ‘Going dancing’ means watching Hines Ward win the mirror ball, after which it’s time for bed.

Then . . I knew everything there was to know about life.
Now . . I wish I didn’t know the half of it.

Then . .  Skim milk and diets were for old people.
Now . . I realize what an obnoxious little putz I used to be.

Then . . I could eat an entire pizza without feeling the least bit guilty about it.
Now . . I can watch my son eat an entire pizza without feeling the least bit guilty about it.

Then . .  I would impress her father with my extensive knowledge of sports.
Now . . I will impress her boyfriend with my extensive knowledge of guns.

Then . . I was like, “Who needs coffee?”
Now . . I do.

But that’s alright because Now I look to heighten my sexual experience whereas back Then I was just looking to have one.

Ooh La La

3 thoughts on “Then and Now

Leave a Reply

