The latest buzz can be found in Giza

There are times when even I must admit that technology is a useful thing.

Like when NASA discovers inhabitable planets- millions of light years away from us. The ability to order your pizza online is incredibly useful, depending on the person who takes your order. Cars that park themselves for people who can’t even drive, that’s a good one. And I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Facebook. I mean, how else are you gonna know your wife is planning on leaving you?

But I was reminded that one of technology’s best uses is in the power to unlock the doors to our past after I read about the painted hieroglyphs and stone markings which were discovered recently at the Great Pyramid of Giza. Since the chamber they were found inside of was inaccessible to humans, it took the long arm of a robot explorer to bring these photographs into the light of day.

And there’s more where that came from. Satellite imagery shows a vast network of pyramids, tombs, tunnels and buildings which run underneath the ancient grounds. A city buried away from us for thousands of years. Until now.

I’ve included a link to one of the photos taken during this dig. Archaeologists believe ancient Egyptians used to gather here.

Check it out.

3 thoughts on “The latest buzz can be found in Giza

  1. Oh my God, I just “liked” myself. I noticed the ‘likes’ on this post and I wondered if it would work ….if I could like myself….

    Another post for another day.

Leave a Reply

