Reality Writes

reality-blog-award4amWriter nominated me for a “Reality Blog Award”, which is ironic considering as how I blog under a pseudonym. Lucky for me this award doesn’t hold my identity crisis against me. And even luckier still is having a writer such as 4am call me out for something she does so very well: Which is to write in the real way of things.

This award is all about tapping into the world you’re moving through and extracting the flavor through your keyboard. It’s not easy, picking through the remains of the day and making sunshine of it, but it’s a thing us writers are willing to die trying.

This 4am chica knows of this try that defines a writer’s struggle to hit oil, and it’s a very cool thing to have her hanging around Drinks Well. She’s a damn good writer who owns a company of words that work really hard and whose profits run bonus time for her readers. Sorry, I tend to go heavy on the metaphors when I dig the regulars.

Now, there are five relatively serious questions which accompany this award, and here they is . . .

1- If you could change something what would you change?- I would make the McRib sandwich fat free.

2) If you could relive one day, when would that be?- The day my son was born. And the day my daughter was born. I know . . that’s two. Sue me.

3) What one thing really scares you? Something terrible happening to either of my children. (This was 4am’s entry, to which, as a parent, I’m quite seriously in agreement on).

4) What one dream have you not completed yet and do you think you will be able to complete it?- Building a tree house.

5) If you could be someone else for the day, who would you be?-  I’m sticking with the guy who got me to here.

Okay, as per the rules of being nominated, I’ve gotta single out a few nominees who keep things real. And since I cannot help myself, I’m gonna channel my best New Englandah in the doing. Hey, I was born in Fort Apache the Bronx and I grew up loving all things Yankees, while 4am is a New England girl who probably believed in the Yaz before Santa. Whenever these two sides can come together without weapons being involved? It’s a very, very cool thing.

So heeaah then, tha nominees as selected by me, Cayman Thawn.

Susie LindauShe’s a wild ridah. Evidently in Colorado, that’s legal. This bloggah is big on photagraphs that have nuthin’ ta do with mugshots. It’s different.

Guapola He’s looking to catch the next big wave, ‘cos in New Yawk . . that’s legal! He’s also a Mets fan, and all I gotta say ta that is . . it took me eighteen yeeahhs to get ovah ’86!

Adventures of a Dog MomShe’s got maw dogs on hah blog than the Yanks have in thea lineup. And thea much cutah.

The Wish Factor– Guat is from Sothan Californiaw, which must be nice considering as how I’m freezing my ass off currently. If she wasn’t such a good writah, I’d be throwing a Grady Little hex on hah.

aFrankAngleHe loves cahtoons, as do I. He reads The Onion which is like made up news . . ya know, sowta like tha Bawstan Globe. Oh, he’s a Reds fan, and all I gotta say ta that is . . it took my pop twenty nine yeeahhs to get ovah ’75!

Fantasy FurnaceHe covahs spots tha way Damon used ta cover centah field faw us. Until the Yanks signed him and he cut his haaih, the bum.

And here’s one for you, 4am. Thanks much, and write big. And of course, keep it real.

17 thoughts on “Reality Writes

  1. YOU’RE freezing your ass off….Since Hank & Hal made me get my hair cut s short, my skull feels like a giant snowball. Brrrrrrr.
    Appreciate the nominee nod. And as for 4AM, you have to get up pretty early in the morning to pull the wool over her eyes…

  2. Holy shat! You suah talked me up, CT. I’m blushin’ ovah heah. 🙂

    In all seriousness, loved your answers. Especially the tree house. That’s one thing we New Englanders have over you city folk. Trees.

    • 4am-I figured, with the baseball season fast approaching, that I would get the New Englandah out of my system before the first Yanks/Sox game.
      Yep, the tree house was my first thought.

Leave a Reply

