This ‘New Normal’ Is Getting Old

April

For as long as I can remember, I’ve kept to the same routine when I lay my head on the pillow. The darkness takes my eyesight away and then I’m filling in the blankness with a silent conversation. The details are different, the idea’s the same.

I hope tomorrow is a better day.

Admittedly, there are nights when the words are sparse and my conviction too damn tired a thing. But then a day like Monday comes along and I remember how these conversations I’m still having every single night are tethered all the way back to a time when the world seemed easier to figure out.

And then it seems more important than ever to say something, anything. And so I did. And the conversation I had in the silence of a dark that began in the middle of the afternoon in Boston, went on for a time. As my thoughts tumbled through the trembling emptiness, I thought on the piece Howard Burkes wrote on Tuesday morning about April being the cruelest month. It seems an unfair thing that such a hopeful month has gone so damned ugly.

That’s what the ‘new normal’ is about. A whole lot of ugly.

United We StandThe monsters who stole Monday afternoon are not a national claim, they’re an individual curse. Their zip codes didn’t murder anyone. I won’t wish some country on the other side of the world a fiery death just the same as I won’t wish it on the state Timothy McVeigh was born in, which happens to be the same as mine. Hey, alls I can do is lay my head on the pillow and hope that tomorrow makes more sense.

And when I’m thinking inside the darkness of this new normal, I’m gonna borrow me some old school. Because, really . . . These terrorists can dream up horrible plots but they can’t dream up the better ideas of a world. They can write manifestos on what ails our society, but they can’t write a fig on what makes us strong. They can steal hope incrementally, by owning certain days of a calendar. But their tactics are hopeless over the long run. Because when we get shoved, we’re no longer just Boston or New York or Pennsylvania or London or Spain. We’re together. And we’re gonna pick ourselves up and we’re gonna keep going. Because it’s not a sprint, it’s a marathon.

All they can do is try and take our hope.

They can’t have it.

(As this Yankees fan can attest… they messed with the wrong town. Love you Boston. Really…I do.)

28 thoughts on “This ‘New Normal’ Is Getting Old

  1. I like your post. To work for peace is to uproot war from ourselves and from the hearts of men and women. To prepare for war, to give millions of men and women the opportunity to practice killing day and night in their hearts, is to plant millions of seeds of violence, anger, frustration, and fear that will be passed on for generations to come.

  2. Dugutigui- Thank you for this comment. How true a thing, the lonesome gather of all these brutal crops we harvest from blind seeds. I want better, right along with everyone else who wants better. Peace to you.

  3. I don’t see how what they did works for them. Everytime something like this happens, it really does just bring us closer together and more determined to continue to live free.

    • I agree about how Americans are very compassionate and we do come together in tragedy.
      Then I learn about the gun control issue that failed today and it was just trying to tighten background checks…It’s ridiculous…

      • We need to stop playing sides with common sense. I’m not for taking guns away, but I AM for tightening background checks. I am also for a ban on assault weapons, with the caveat being that all the sportsmen who wish to use them may do so in a controlled environment (Gun range). They have to go there to use them, and they have to leave them there.

  4. I read that. Wasn’t it something where people spliced a couple episodes together? As far as whoever did this, let’s try something different this time. If we catch the bastard alive, let’s leave him in one piece and ask him why he did this. Until he runs out of breath.

  5. I agree with Susie most of the time I see our peeps get together and being united in a time like this, even New Yorker Yankee Fans are sending heartfelt thoughts and prayers to Boston. As Americans we get so pissed off when stuff like this happens because it hurts innocent people, but it revives our spirit to be united and compassionate.

  6. This is a great post, Cayman. And I was moved to see the picture of the Yankees Stadium, which I’d missed among all the news media hubbub. Bottom line, we all come from the same place and want the same thing. Even Yankees and Sox.

    I can’t understand what goes through the minds of madmen, how they justify murdering civilians. All their insane actions do is remind every single one of us how we became a free nation to begin with! By banding together and fighting for what we believe is right.

  7. The only way I can make myself trudge forward after things like this happen, is to remind myself that, new normal or not, we are still better off than the people who lived during the middle ages, or during the years of the Spanish Inquisition, nasty periods like that.

    Still. I do wish we could evolve a little faster than we are, so that kindness and tolerance was the new normal instead of this bullshit. Damn.

    Good post, Cayman.

    • How right you are. And now comes the news this morning that one of the terrorists was killed and the other is on the run. Hopefully we can get this one alive, if only to answer some questions.

  8. Well written, I’m so glad Guap shared it today.

    Suspect #2 actually taken in alive tonight, though critically injured–maybe we’ll get some answers.

    I too refuse to give away my hope. (Though I passionately detest April due to personal losses–I found the NPR link very interesting, thank you.)

    • Running- I’ll have to thank handsome on the link. He’s good people, that’s how he rolls. I was glued to the computer stream on Friday night, and with the way things are looking, we just might be getting some answers soon.
      Thank you for reading this.

      • My pleasure. And yes, sounds as though speech communication is limited, but that he is cooperating and communicating other ways. At least there’s that.

        Yep, he’s good people. One of the best on WP. He obviously has good taste in followers!

  9. have no idea what you are talking about . . . for you know i never read newspapers or watch the news, but the choice of song i love. hey just saw that view yesterday by the way.

Leave a Reply

