Muscular Dystrophy Can’t Take His Dreams

No one aspires to ordinary dreams.

You have a dream, it’s a deep and boundless possession that doesn’t have room for doubt, or concern for limitations. The gift of dreams is their ability to understand your soul. Dreams translate the foreign concept into a familiar ideal. They deliver you a patch of grass to rest your head on as you navigate a blueprint that is very well tendered out of stardust and might.

Dreams give us wings, no matter the place we inhabit or the challenge we face. Dreams do not suffer excuses. They do not consider failure to be an ending, just the next beginning. In the goodbye of one missed opportunity comes the hello of your next shot.

Dreams only concern themselves with the most important thing- that you believe in them wholly and that you follow them regardless of the signs that tell you to stop, throw up your hands, surrender.

I am re-blogging this post I read over at Khamillion’s place the other night. It took my breath away and it brought a tear to my eye, after which that tear invited friends and well, yanno . . .

K has a way with words and a knack for brilliant finds. Check out this photo shoot with 12 year old Luka and photographer Matej Peljhan, who brought Luka’s dreams to life.

Beautiful child.

10 thoughts on “Muscular Dystrophy Can’t Take His Dreams

  1. I love this dude! “…you follow them regardless of the signs that tell you to stop.” I love that these pictures transcend his disease, make his dreams come to life, and help him fulfill his own Gatorade-Commerical-Worthy moments. Awesome! I especially love the skateboarding and hoops shots. Excellent post my friend! Guatacular!

    • Guat- All thanks to K, who posted it. The minute I saw it, I knew I had to reblog this post. Sometimes, you just want to expand the inspiration- personally and collectively. Great stuff indeed. Thanks So Cal.

  2. This was so beautiful and exactly what I needed to read tonight. Thank you so much for reblogging and providing the awesome preamble as well. Loved this!

    I think the paragraph your wrote (quoted here) matches the very last “shot.”

    “Dreams give us wings, no matter the place we inhabit or the challenge we face. Dreams do not suffer excuses. They do not consider failure to be an ending, just the next beginning. In the goodbye of one missed opportunity comes the hello of your next shot.”

    Book marking and saving this one for the days I whine..which seem to many of late 🙂

    • Mama- We all whine, and there’s really no need to feel bad about it (I don’t). It’s part of living a life, and it only makes moments of inspiration that much more important to the individual. I took a lot from K’s post, and I’m still taking. Thanks for giving me your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

