Mad World (American Pie, Part One)

Words for the Weekend

Got on my dead man’s suit and my smilin’ skull ring
My lucky graveyard boots and a song to sing
I got a song to sing, it keeps me out of the cold
And I’ll meet you further on up the road.

~ “Further On (Up the Road)” performed by Johnny Cash

Mad World (American Pie, Part One)

by Christy Anna Beguins

Blood-stained sidewalks lead in one direction when the world is at war with itself. The way is dark and the night is cold, all towns bleed together. My dog Marley and I keep movin’ on, further down the road. We’ve got songs to sing; they keep us out of the cold and help keep us grounded. We’ve been making pretty good time. It helps that we stay to ourselves. Marley is as cautious as I am about steering clear of others—dead and alive. We’re good at staying in the…

View original post 3,213 more words

10 thoughts on “Mad World (American Pie, Part One)

    • Holy cow that song is phenomenal. It makes me want to tango like Jamie Lee in that old Arnold movie, haha.

      “Yes this is an impossible love
      The flame in lust is an exhaustible love
      And flames combust
      We flames would be hand in glove
      And why should two loves not agree, no”

      The French gets a little depressing (I think? It’s been since high school), but wow what a haunting song. Love her smoky voice.

      • It’s something, isn’t it? Oh man, do I love a smoky voice that takes me. It’s not for everyone, but I really dig it. Haunting is the theme for this Mad World of a Saturday. Fo sho.

    • PS- was playing around with The Lovely Fire and set up a vase of sunflowers as our “blog photo” — I saw it pop up over on your comments sidebar. You like? Feel free to fiddle with the theme or pictures or whatever…

      • Ah ha … Two it is (and at least I didn’t guess three or four) 😉 … The SF win was big, but winning in Denver on Monday will be a challenge … which then takes it down to beating the Ravens here. Merry Christmas!

        • The AFC is really a toss up. In the NFC, I think it comes down to Carolina, Seattle and Arizona. Green Bay is too injury depleted and it shows in their play. I actually love the way Seattle is playing right now, and I hate to admit this (to you) but I also think the Steelers are very dangerous. A Super Bowl rematch? Hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

