January 28, 1986

Challenger Crew 2

“Oh, I have slipped the surly bonds of earth,
And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings;
Sunward I’ve climbed and joined the tumbling mirth of sun-split clouds –
and done a hundred things You have not dreamed of –
wheeled and soared and swung high in the sunlit silence.
Hovering there I’ve chased the shouting wind along
and flung my eager craft through footless halls of air.
“Up, up the long delirious burning blue
I’ve topped the wind-swept heights with easy grace,
where never lark, or even eagle, flew;
and, while with silent, lifting mind I’ve trod
the high untrespassed sanctity of space,
put out my hand and touched the face of God.”

John Gillespie Magee 

21 thoughts on “January 28, 1986

    • It’s sad when you think back, but I love how people share what they were doing because it speaks to what a tragic event this was and how important these people were to us. My mother cried, I remember her crying. She had been a Kennedy fan, and she had woken me up when I was three years old to watch the moon landing. Of course, I was all of three years old so I didn’t much care, lol. But she came from a generation where going into space was the stuff of dreams. She was so excited for Christa McAuliffe, who was living that dream.

      I think McAuliffe’s example is important to remember. She knew the risks and she went, because she knew how important it was. As far as I’m concerned, she never stopped teaching us lessons.

              • She was incredible! What a great movie, too! Since hanging with you and Christy, I’m watching movies with a whole new eye. The movie did a fantastic job with character dimension, don’t you think? Love how a writer can blur the lines…leaving you trying to figure out who to root for.
                I have to take Team Vera on this one.

                • She’s just all that and a great big bag of sexy chips. The first time I saw her was in Iron Jawed Angels and it was love at first sight. She has this veneer of cool going on, like a female George Clooney, but man . . mess with her and you’re gonna get the claws. I love that.

                  Departed is one of those flicks that gets short shrift because people tend to focus on the last twenty minutes, but you’re right, it’s really good at blurring the lines. I loves me a bad guy as much as anyone, but I despised Matt Damon because he was a rat-weasel . . and I draw the line when it comes to rat-weasels. Which is why I was plenty fine with Leonardo having his way with Vera. I guess . . .

                  Team Vera? I like it! Yanno, I’m counting down the days to Bates Motel . . .

Leave a Reply

