The 2016 Vera Farmiga Invitational

Mama Mick texted me the other night to let me know Vera was doing her thing in “The Departed”, and it struck me as to the power of Vera. Here’s a flick with a thousand A-listers, and yet . . Vera held the conversation. That. Is hot.

It occurred to me while reading Christy and Mick’s Viggo posts that I have never given Vera her full measure of lovely props. Thanks to the Ladies at Drinks, Vera goes spotlight this time around.

Vera 2016

 

This Ukrainian American beauty was a Catholic school girl, and really, that would have sold me on her all by its lonesome. Farmiga didn’t learn to speak English until she was six years old. A legit talent as a soccer player, the world of acting caught its big break when Vera was sidelined with an injury. She decided to try out for a school play and caught the fever, parlaying that experience into a major in drama at Syracuse University.

Vera’s acting career began in television, but quickly moved to the silver screen. Her multi-dimensional talents caught the attention of directors, and before long she found herself working with such legends as Cristopher Walken, Joseph Fiennes, Richard Gere, Edward Burns and Robert De Niro. Her classic beauty and impressive range caught the eye of Martin Scorcese and Vera landed her break out role as Dr. Madolyn Madden in The Departed. 

She has drawn critical acclaim for numerous roles- Under the Blue Sky, Down to the Bone, Iron Jawed Angels, The Manchurian Candidate, The Departed, Never Forever, Quid Pro Quo, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, Henry’s Crime, Source Code, Nothing but the Truth and The Conjuring. She garnered an Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actress playing opposite George Clooney in Up in the Air; a performance which led the late film critic Roger Ebert to say that Vera was “one of the warmest and most attractive women in the movies”. The following year she was inducted into the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

In 2011, Farmiga made her directorial debut in Higher Ground, while also starring. The film received strong praise from fans and critics alike. In 2013, she returned to television as Norma Bates in the hit show Bates Motel and has become an annual favorite at the Emmy’s for her work.

An outspoken critic of the male dominated nature of a Hollywood career, Farmiga has intimated that she won’t play the game forever. ” . . we women have the shelf life of seafood, and … guys have the shelf life of Twinkies.” Considering the equity she has accrued on the friendly side of the camera, Farmiga will shape her arc from here. And if she decides to throw her energies into directing, while I will be crestfallen, I’ll also be first in line to support her mad talents.

What do you get when you combine perspective, pretty and punch? You get the timeless Vera Farmiga. What. A. Woman.

And now for the Vera Invitational Top 5 . . . . . 

Fiona Apple: She’s got a Vera’s bad ass cousin vibe to her. Her sexy sultry voice can melt the strongest man. If you look up the word Temptation in the dictionary, there’s a picture of her. She’s the bad girl you know will break your heart into a million little pieces, and it doesn’t matter. Because you’re gonna follow her over the ledge anyways. She’s where naughty goes to learn how to be naughtier. There is a power to sexy, and her name is Fiona. (A big thank you to Christy for providing me with the perfect accompaniment to this love tap.)

 

Lauren BacallLauren Bacall: If a picture is worth a thousand words, those eyes were worth a million ideas. Her turn as Irene Jansen in Dark Passage epitomized the play for keeps quality of this timeless beauty. She starred opposite some guy named Humphrey Bogart, who didn’t stand a chance inside the eyes of this beautiful storm. Bacall owned a voice that was equal parts honey and dynamite and a presence that rendered every other person in the room a shadow. And when she fixed those eyes on you, the ending became whatever she wanted it to be.

Meagan Tandy: She’s the next gen girl next door. I first started paying attention to her in Meagan Tandythe Divergent series but I quickly learned there’s a lot more where that came from. Personally, I prefer when she sports the corn rows that rain down from her shoulders and slink across her back in a Toni Morrison sonnet. Her eyes deliver up wicked promises and her stare is a complicated entanglement that goes lock down on your senses before you have a chance to escape its clutches. She’s entering her prime, where a talented actress starts digging her claws into you with sexy, deep and orgasmic performances that leave you begging for more of the same. Purrrrr.

Mim DrewMim Drew: And with the 199th pick in the 6th round, Cayman Thorn selects this babe. She worked me over but good in that Capital One commercial where she plays a bespectacled entrepreneur . . I was buying what she was selling. She possessed all the traits I find most attractive in a woman. Her style was smart and sexy. She was powerful and confident, which is tremendously intoxicating. I envisioned working under her as she barked out orders . . and umm, what the hell was I talking about? Oh yeah, those pouty lips, the long, tall saunter that will have you following, and those glasses. Anybody who insists that men rule the world? Has no fucking idea what they’re talking about.

AnaAna De La Reguera: The name alone gets you excited. For a guy who claims to not having a ‘type’, I kinda have to admit Ana is mine. She is simple sophistication, the kind of woman who is all in. When she trains her attention on you, it’s all business so you best be prepared to deal. She’ll make you eternally thankful for the Y chromosome. Dressing down, she’ll bring new meaning to a pair of blue jeans. Going out in style, she’ll fetch more eyes than Lenscrafters. And the best part of all her very best parts? She curses in Spanish. Imma leave you to imagine the possibilities I’m enlisting. 

28 thoughts on “The 2016 Vera Farmiga Invitational

  1. Well,you killed me again. Great lineup and most appreciated as well. By the way, I was hunting for the Twitter handle of a friend and up popped Vera’s. It was all I could do not to say Hi. I knew it would be foolish but hey what if she said “Hi” back.

  2. This was an absolutely delicious surprise on an otherwise boring night. When you talk about lovely ladies, your words turn to sweet caramel, and I love the cast you’ve chosen for the creamy drizzle.
    I first saw Vera in Striped Pajamas and was immediately hooked. The movie was heartbreaking, and her character made me think beyond the stereotypes often associated with the holocaust. She was perfect. I NEED to add Bates to my watch list. I haven’t yet.

    You’ve outdone yourself, Cayman!
    *sneaks away with a Spanish translation dictionary…

    • My God, you know how to hurt me so good. I love that Virginia look. Her hair is starting to unravel and all you can think about is unraveling that bun and watching it go crazy.

      Nice call.

  3. Actually enjoyed learning a bit more about Vera. I’m more interested in what’s going on BEHIND the magic curtain, ya know? I mean a pretty face is nice, but you have no substance, a pretty face won’t cut it.

    I really really really like Fiona Apple. The first song I ever heard was “Criminal” (and not in the best of circumstances since an ex played it to/about me, haha, but I didn’t care because I was infatuated with her voice. Still am.) And that performance. Sigh. Like I said, one of my favorite cover performances ever.

    She does the lead song on “The Affair.” That Showtime show I told you about, told from different character POVs. Another reason you should check it out. 🙂 I think you’d like the lead actress too.
    Ruth Wilson:

  4. You’re too funny, your love/obsession with Vera is totally justified and seeing how she had the courage to direct duuuuuuude high-five for sure because you’ve got to be talented for that gig. Props to her! Plus I’m super happy you got a Latina on your list and it is NOT Sophia Vergara (that chic burns me out just the sound of her voice and just her in general burns me out). Ana definitely rocks! I first saw her in a Spanish film, which I can’t quite remember, but she was gooooooood and I was like hmph I hope she gets more parts and she totally did. She reminds me of Penelope.

    • Vera captivated me from the get, and it wasn’t beauty that won over this beast, it was her talent. If I’m channel surfing and I come upon a movie she’s in, it’s like cinematic power ball and I camp out right there. I just think she has that timeless quality.

      As far as Sophia, I agree. I never had a fascination with her. She is kinda reminiscent of a modern day Charo, only not as funny. Ana is a classic beauty, no comparison in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

