I’m a Neat Freak!: Real Neat Blog Award

Didi Oviatt recently nominated me for The Real Neat Blog Award, and I am honored to accept. Because it means I’m real and I’m neat, which are two very fine qualities to be in possession of.

As for Didi Oviatt, she’s a blogger with plenty of boom. She writes, she reviews and she presses the virtual flesh with bloggers from all around the world and back again. She does all this with a charismatic flair that has her readers begging for more. To which she always provides.

Thank you so very kindly, Ms. Oviatt, for the award; for taking the time. Both.

Now, as per the rules of my award . . I got a few questions to answer:

1. If your voice could sound like any artist, who would you want it to sound like?- This was a really difficult one, but I would have to say Mariah Carey. Reason being, I love singing her tunes in the car but I know I ain’t doing her justice. I want justice for Mariah.

2. What is your favorite recipe?- This is another really difficult one but if I HAVE to choose I am going to go with a lamb roast. For one thing, it allows me to play with some of my favorite ingredients such as garlic, thyme, rosemary and dijon. And for another, it’s a simple dish that feels elegant and I like that. I refer to it as provincial simplicity.

3. Do you have a favorite genre to read?- No. I don’t. Historical fiction . . . Maybe. But no, I really don’t. An example? Why not. I just finished reading Eben Alexander’s Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife. Before that it was Shutter Island . . Killing Pablo by Mark Bowden and The Prophet (For the thousandth time . . I think). And I am currently engrossed in The Alchemist. 

4. What is your favorite movie?- Of all time? The Godfather. There are so many life lessons to be culled from this masterpiece. I could have gone with Godfather 2 because it’s probably a better movie, but my favorite will always be the original. Interestingly, my least favorite movie is Godfather 3. 

5. What did you do today to improve your future self?- Today? I didn’t murder the asshole who cut me off on the way to breakfast with my kids. Hey, it means I don’t have to get used to wearing an orange jumpsuit and catching up on my smoking habit whilst guarding my ass as if it were the Mona Lisa. Yesterday was a bit more constructive, because I spent some time with pit bulls. As far as God’s creatures go, they are severely misunderstood. I was hand feeding a pit bull yesterday, who only a couple weeks earlier was unapproachable and had been designated as “Staff Only”. As a volunteer, I still can’t walk Maximus, but thanks to some wonderful people who’ve been working with him, I learned the color of his beautiful eyes- hazel with a touch of vermilion. And now he doesn’t bark at me, and now he doesn’t charge. Now, we just sit together. These people reached him with patience and love and understanding, and I became the lucky recipient of their dedication. It is in these small victories where I find God.

As to who I nominate for the Neat Blogger Award?

Every single blogger who visits this place. I know, it’s not exactly in keeping with the rules, but I won’t choose. Because I am thankful for each and every one of you. To take the time from your busy day to venture over here, it’s more appreciated than you know. You make this blog what it is- a neat place to come to. Without you . . . there’s no Cayman Thorn.

To peace and love, and to you.

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “I’m a Neat Freak!: Real Neat Blog Award

  1. Cooking a dish is so much fun…so many ingredients from which to choose. It is difficult to choose a favorite. Thank you for accepting the challenge, you neat one.

    • I dig the recipes that go simple. I had chicken in the freezer that needed to be used so I cut it down into strips. I took flour, chili powder, garlic powder, black pepper and a can of beer. Cooked ’em up till they were just started to gimme that golden glow, took them out and let them rest for ten minutes whilst keeping the flame low but ready, the second bath took three minutes and boom! Golden brown, crunchy, juicy. Served it up with honey and lemon slices. Simple.

      Thanks for your neat comment, Jaded. 🙂

  2. I love how you find moments of Zen and God hanging with Maximus and those awesome green eyes. These were some good answers bud. Mariah Carrey has a killer voice for sure … she rocks it like no one else. I mean those octaves? Dude. When she first came on the scene in the early 90s … dude it was a Mariah frenzy! 20 years already … wow

    • Mariah was IT, you’re right. She still has those magical pipes, doesn’t she?

      My Zen is a priceless thing. It is a precious commodity to which I abide when things get crazy or stupid or just depressing. And sometimes, Zen just shows up and lets me know what I didn’t think I needed to know. It’s always right on time.

      Peace, Zen and 42

  3. I’m not big on lamb roast. And yes, I tried it, like 30 years ago. Now I’d have too much metal hang-up eating it (like pork). You’d think I’d have a hang-up about beef, since I have cows, but I guess I have successfully separated those two worlds (one in which I have pet cows, the other in which I eat beef)…what’s the psychology word? Splitting? But your recipe did sound otherwise appealing. 🙂

    Maria can sang, that’s for sure. I’m only a tiny bit embarrassed to admit I saw her in concert about 15 years ago in Atlanta. She seemed sweet and friendly to the crowd. Very adoring to her fans in a “Let them eat cake!” sort of way, LOL. But you can’t deny her voice.

    I have a soft spot for dogs, especially shelter dogs. Love that you mentioned Maximus as an example. ❤

    • Lamb roast ain’t for everyone, that’s for sure. The first time I had lamb roast, it was prepared by my uncle’s second wife, and it was horrid. According to mom, which is what made me go back for more.
      I tried it once with the traditional mint jelly and that was forgettable . . the mint jelly, I mean. So that’s how I came to discover this pom sauce thing.
      I have no beef with your love of beef. Insert pun . . . here!
      Mariah is a diva of the highest order. But wowza on the pipes! And I do sing her tunes in the car. Windows closed, of course.
      And I am happy to report Maximus was taken in by a woman who only takes in pits. So it’s nice to know there are still true believers in this world.

Leave a Reply

